The Big 1-0 {A Personal Note} | Santa Clarita Photographer

Tomorrow is the big day…the big 1-0: 10 years of marriage for Thomas and I.  Instead of my usual Wednesday photography post, I am dedicating this post to my husband because his presence in my life has given me the inspiration to do what I do, day in and day out.

Thomas and I met when we were in high school, although we went to different schools. We were fixed up by two friends who were dating and, after our first meeting, we were inseparable.  Though we were young, it wasn’t long before we were talking marriage.  On a sunny Santa Barbara day, Thomas got down on one knee on the pier and asked me to spend forever with him.  Of course, I said yes!

April 7, 2001 was a cold, rainy day. Not exactly what we had hoped for when we planned an outdoor wedding in a beautiful gazebo.  The funny thing was, I really didn’t care. I was marrying my best friend. I was marrying the man of my dreams. I was marrying the man that made me feel special, who loved me, and who I imagined growing old with.  That day, we tied the knot [indoors] and I couldn’t have been happier. Everything was right in the world.

10 years and 2 kids later, there have been very good times and there have been very difficult times.  And still, I see him the same way as when we first met. My knight in shining armor, my best friend, my love.  He gives me the courage to be myself, to challenge myself, and to believe in myself.  In the same respect, I am proud of the man he has always been and the man he has become.

This weekend, I will officially be off the grid…truly, off the grid. As many of you know, that rarely happens.  Thomas and I decided to take what we are calling our “random road trip”. My mom is watching our kids. We are setting off bright and early on Saturday morning with no particular destination in mind…no hotel rooms booked…just each other’s company.  We couldn’t be more excited!

Of course, pictures to follow!

Happy 10th anniversary, Thomas!

Leave Your Comments Here

