A Lesson Learned | Santa Clarita Photographer

This past weekend, my husband and I took a road trip up north. We hit Reno, Sacramento, and San Francisco, where I constantly snapped away with my camera and borrowed 14-24mm lens. Until…

We made one last quick stop at Palace of the Arts / The Exploratorium in San Francisco.  We parked in the public lot right next to the museum at about noon and jumped out.  We spent fifteen minutes or so walking the grounds and taking photos.  When we got back to the car, my husband said my name and I could tell by the way he said it that it wasn’t good.

There was glass everywhere. My back passenger window was gone. So was my camera bag and ALL of my photography equipment minus the camera around my neck (and the borrowed lens).  In truth, I have no clue why I didn’t take my camera bag with me because I ALWAYS take it with me.  The camera bag hadn’t been left out and visible, but unfortunately, that didn’t matter.   To add to the ridiculousness of someone breaking into my [brand new] car, my iPod wasn’t taken and it WAS in plain sight.  Had these thieves had a brain in their heads, they would have also noticed that my laptop was also in the car, as well as my purse. Nope.

I called the local police station and I was told to bring my car to them. After [what seemed like] forever, we finally arrived. We were then told that they considered this a minor crime in San Francisco and they really couldn’t do anything with it. I was instructed to file a police report online.  The next call was to my insurance company who promptly informed me that I had a high deductible and they likely wouldn’t cover the damages.

We drove home to Los Angeles, a 7 hour drive, minus a window and with a backseat full of glass.  Neither of us could hear by the end of the drive and our hearts were heavy with the financial impact this was going to have on us.  For me, it was also the knowledge that I hadn’t taken out a loan for that equipment, I had worked hard to pay for it outright. And now it was gone.

When all is said and done, I will have to replace about $1,500 in camera equipment and likely around $1,000 in damages to my car.

So yes, I learned my lesson. NEVER EVER leave anything of value in the car, even if it isn’t visible and even if you are traveling.  Unless we were followed from our hotel, there is no way that the thieves could have known I had that equipment in my car, and yet, it is gone nonetheless. Please, please don’t make the mistake I did! Protect your belongings!

These aren’t the best pictures of the damage, but I was shaking at the time and didn’t bother to change the settings on my camera because I couldn’t wrap my mind around what had just happened.  I just snapped away thinking that the insurance company would need the pictures.

Leave Your Comments Here

